As rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft offer a transportation alternative, passengers may be unsure where to turn after an accident in a rideshare vehicle. If you experienced injuries, do you file a claim with the driver’s insurance company, the rideshare app or your own auto insurance provider?
Explore your options in Colorado if you face mounting medical bills and disability after an accident as a passenger in an Uber or Lyft.
Provisions of the Transportation Network Company Act
Under this Colorado law, “transportation network companies” such as Lyft and Uber must provide the first line of insurance coverage whenever the driver is active and accepting work in the rideshare app. Rideshare firms must hold injury liability coverage of at least $50,000 per person or $100,000 per accident. If the driver has accepted a ride or has a passenger, the coverage increases to $1,000,000.00.
When another driver caused the accident in which you received injuries, you can file a claim with the third-party driver’s insurer. In those cases, there may also be additional coverage available through the rideshare company.
Sometimes, the insurance company provides a settlement number that does not fully cover the costs associated with your injury. In Colorado, you can seek personal injury damages for monetary costs such as medical care, lost wages and home modifications. You may also be able to recoup up to $584,210 for non-monetary costs such as pain and suffering.
Colorado residents must file a personal injury lawsuit within three years of an accident involving a rideshare driver.